Episode 82 – How to keep your camper van safe from break-in or theft when boondocking

If you have listened to this podcast for a long time you know that my shift from a travel trailer to a camper van was precipitated by theft. We’ll talk about some ways you can keep your camper van safe from break-ins or theft in this episode of the Rolling Home Podcast.

Listen to Episode 82

I love boondocking which means I don’t spend a lot of time in established campgrounds or RV parks. While break-ins and thefts occur everywhere, there is an added hazard of parking in places where there are, or aren’t a lot, of people when boondocking.

In an earlier episode of Rolling Home, I talked about the theft of our travel trailer from inside a fenced security gate with 24-hour monitoring. What that tells me is if someone wants to steal something bad enough they are going to do it. However, there are several common sense things we all can do to hopefully deter the wannabee thief.

While RV break-ins and theft are relatively rare, taking simple precautions can make someone think twice before stealing your stuff and move on to the next guy.

Always lock your doors. It sounds simple, but sometimes it is temping at campgrounds or even remote locations let our guard down by not taking a simple precaution like locking your doors both when you are inside your camper or away. And if you are going to be away from a time put up things that are easy pickings such as chairs, portable tables, and other items we all tend to use when setting up camp. Of course, having a camper van means that when I leave my campsite I take everything with me, so this is not as much of a problem, which is one reason I love my camper van.

Shut windows and blinds when away. Make it appear that someone is at home. This is important with a camper van. If I go for a walk or hike or are away from my van for any reason, I like to make things look like someone is inside. For me, this means leaving up our window coverings even during the day, and perhaps leaving on a radio or other device that makes noise inside the van when away. If you are away after dark keep interior lights on. I have these small solar exterior motion lights that I put on the outside of the van at night which may help deter some curious person from getting a bit too close to my rig to inspect it. With the interior lights on and your blinds/shades closed, the bad guys will have no idea if someone is inside.

Know the area where you are camping or boondocking and stay in a well-lit area (especially if urban camping). Do some googling before you leave and plan to stay in campgrounds with good reviews or in urban areas that are in better areas of a city such as the suburbs. Downtown urban camping sometimes is unavoidable, but the likelihood of falling victim to crime is much greater. 

Put away high-dollar items like computers and electronics. If a thief does break into your rig it’s best to put away these types of items that if left in plain sight are easy to grab. Many times RV break-ins are a crime of opportunity, so they will not plan to be there long and won’t take the time to go through drawers, look under the bed, and such.

If possible get to know your neighbors. This isn’t always possible, but If staying in a campground it’s a good idea to say “hi” to a few fellow campers and strike up a conversation perhaps about where they are from, or something like that. Even boondockers can do this when staying at a Walmart, Cracker Barrel, or rest stop. 

Install a security system. In a previous podcast episode, I talked about the security Wyze camera security system I patched together for occasional use, but there are great commercial options for those who would like something for sophisticated. I have considered installing a system on my van that would include hidden exterior security cameras.

Well, that’s it for another edition of the Rolling Home Podcast, please consider liking or subscribing on your favorite listening platform so more people will see it – it really helps with our visibility. Also, email your comments or questions to rollingforhome@gmail.com or visit our blog at rollingforhome.wordpress.com for past podcasts and show notes.

And remember, home is where you park it! See you again soon on another edition of Rolling Home.

Cover photo courtesy of Pexels.com

Leave a comment