Episode 73 – Minimalist camping is best in a camper van!

Waves brush the shoreline. A gentle breeze rustle leaves in the trees. Fish flop in the lake as hawks soar above in search of their next meal. These are just a few of the sights and sounds of camper van camping and why I love it so much. We’ll talk about that and more on this edition of the Rolling Home podcast.

Listen to Episode 73

Tent camping as a child and later as an adult was all the camping I knew for many years. When my children were young, I borrowed a pop-up camper from a friend and experienced a fun weekend with more enmities and fewer setup hassles. I saw then the potential of having a camper ready for weekend adventures. However, frequent moves and jobs in numerous states kept me from my dream until I entered my 50s, and my wife and I bought our first camper: a lightly used 2015 14-foot KZ Sportsmen Classic.

The purchase of the Sportsmen Classic came after several years of evaluating new models at RV dealers and scouring used models in want ads.

The Sportsmen Classic saw one camping trip, performing admirably, before being stolen from a storage facility near my home in the middle of the night on a Fourth of July weekend.

Following the insurance settlement, my wife and I decided to shift gears and look for something that did not require a tow vehicle. While we did briefly consider a Class C rig, we quickly settled on camper vans, deciding we loved everything about them except one – price.

While we had that reservation I moved forward and began researching camper van models and settled on one design in a particular model: the Winnebago Travato 59G. The problem was we did not have a local dealer that sold Winnebago campers, and in particular, Winnebago camper vans.

Then one weekend while casually checking out local RV dealers we ran across the exact model we wanted locally at a price that we could afford. We jumped at it and were camper van owners.

I didn’t expect what happened next. While we used our camper van for camping, we also found the van was a great travel vehicle – having all the enmities onboard for long (and for that matter short) road trips. We soon found ourselves using the van for trips such as out-of-state weddings and trips to visit family and friends, and even to attend the funeral of a friend.

It was the perfect camper for us, but because it could be used for many more purposes than use camping, we felt more than justified in its purchase.

Then the pandemic hit.

While many travelers scrambled for various types of RVs, including a limited supply of camper vans, we were set to travel and social distance with the best of them in our Travato. While we would prepare most meals while traveling, it was easy to order to pick up take-out at restaurants closed or with limited inside dining. Since the pandemic we still order out many times, not only to save money but simply for the convenience of eating at our own dinette.

It’s funny that as I initially looked for campers prior to our purchase of the pumper pull Sportsmen Classic and Travato, nearly all the RV salesmen I encountered would attempt to up sale me to a larger camper, even after I insisted that I wanted something smaller.

And as you know, a camper van is a small travel vehicle. But we have found it perfectly complements our camping and travel lifestyle. Yes, it can be a bit cramped at times, and it certainly isn’t for everyone, but the Travato more than makes up for it for maneuverability and convenience, not to mention that it is easy on the gas.

What have I learned as a camper van owner since our purchase of our Travato in 2018? Following are a few takeaways.

1. Do your research and select a camper or camper van that suits your lifestyle.

I guess you could say camping is “different strokes for different folks.” While it is important to listen to friends or “RV professionals,” ultimately you should choose the gig that best fits your needs and lifestyle choices.

Some RVers want to essentially take their house with them when they camp. They don’t care how large their camper is, they just want all the conveniences of home – and sometimes more!

My camping style is “less is more.” My Travato sits in my driveway and essentially is immediately ready for an adventure within minutes. There have been instances my wife and I have been sitting around on a weekend and have decided to go camping and literally be on the road within 30 minutes.

Since we keep everything onboard except for fresh food the camper van stands at the ready nearly all the time.

And since the camper van is so small there is no need to make reservations at a campground. We typically boondock anyway.

2. Since is important to keep camping hassle-free, the rig you choose is a big part of being able to have fun when camping.

This sort of goes along with No. 1 above, but it is important to mention it on its own. I believe the less hassle of collecting gear, pulling a large camper, getting the camper out of storage, etc., goes a long way in enjoying your camping experience. Heck, with our camper van we don’t even have to level it. We pull in, set the parking break, and we’re camping or boondocking!

3. Having a “self-contained” camping rig adds to the enjoyment of camping.

Our Travato has an advanced rooftop solar system that not only keeps our house batteries charged, but allows us to forego dependency on electric hook-ups.

While our rig isn’t as sophisticated – or as expensive for that matter as newer lithium models – as long as there is gas in our tank and we can stay out for days without hookups. While we may not be able to generate enough solar power for all of our needs we have an onboard generator that can more than power everything we need for boondocking.

4. My front wheel drive 3500 ProMaster is surprisingly surefooted on the highway.

This may seem like an odd takeaway to add, but I have read accounts and talked to numerous friends and acquaintances who find large RVs – from bumper pull to Class A and Class C rigs – intimated by the size and instability when pulling or driving their rig from the home base to a campsite.

While this may not be a big deal for some, it can be very disconcerting for the occasional RVer who uses their daily driver pickup or SUV to pull a large trailer. Additionally, a large Class A or Class B rig – can be rather unwieldy as well depending on the length and size.

While our Travato is not a small vehicle by any stretch, it is 21 feet from bumper to bumper and can fit in most normal parking spots. Honestly, I have seen some dually tow pickup trucks that are longer a foot or two longer than our rig. I find the size of our rig is a big, big advantage for me.

5. The fun factor of a camper van can’t be overlooked.

When children are small many are drawn to building forts out of materials outside or out of a large container box that mom and dad’s new appliance came in or even a Christmas gift.

It may sound silly, but to me the small space and organizational demands of a camper van and it small living space takes me back to the days as a child of having my own space to live, work and play.

As I mentioned earlier some immediately dismiss a camper van because it is so small and you can’t everything with you. To me that is part of the intrigue and challenge of being a minimalist of taking only what you need.

Think about it another way. If you previously have been a tent camper or hiker camper, you know the feeling and what I’m talking about without additional explanation.

What’s your favorite style of camping? Do you disagree with me on the advantages of camper van camping? You may also leave a message on this podcast at my blog rollingforhome.wordpress.com.

Well, that’s it for another edition of the Rolling Home podcast. I would appreciate it if you would like, subscribe, or follow – whatever your listening platform allows – because it helps the podcast be heard by more people. And remember, home is where you park it! See you again soon on another edition of Rolling Home!

Photos courtesy of Pixels.com

Leave a comment